Spotlight on: Whippoorwill by Robert Bartam

Today on the blog we welcome Robert Bartram's new book, Whippoorwill, "a thrilling tale of espionage set in the American Civil War" with glowing reviews! Read an extract and find out more about the book below... Title: Whippoorwill Author: R.L. Bartram Publisher: Matador [Synopsis] Barely fourteen, Ceci Prejean is a tomboy running wild in the hot Louisiana summer.… Continue reading Spotlight on: Whippoorwill by Robert Bartam

Advertisements

The Stranger [review]

Title: The Stranger Author: Kate Riordan Publisher: Michael Joseph [Synopsis] Cornwall, 1940. In the hushed hours of the night a woman is taken by the sea. Was it a tragic accident? Or should the residents of Penhallow have been more careful about whom they invited in? In the midst of war three women arrive seeking… Continue reading The Stranger [review]

Everything Is Lies [review]

Title: Everything Is Lies Author: Helen Callaghan Publisher: Michael Joseph [Synopsis] No-one is who you think they are Sophia's parents lead quiet, unremarkable lives. At least that is what she's always believed. Everyone has secrets Until the day she arrives at her childhood home to find a house ringing with silence. Her mother is hanging… Continue reading Everything Is Lies [review]

The Wicked Cometh [review]

Title: The Wicked Cometh Author: Laura Carlin Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton [Synopsis] The year is 1831. Down the murky alleyways of London, acts of unspeakable wickedness are taking place and no one is willing to speak out on behalf of the city's vulnerable poor as they disappear from the streets. Out of these shadows comes Hester White,… Continue reading The Wicked Cometh [review]

Penhaligon’s Attic [review]

Title: Penhaligon's Attic  Author: Terri Nixon Publisher: Piatkus [Synopsis] 1910. Anna Garvey arrives in Caernoweth, Cornwall with her daughter and a secret. Having come from Ireland to take up an inheritance of the local pub, she and her eighteen year-old daughter Mairead are initially viewed with suspicion by the close-knit community. Anna soon becomes acquainted with Freya… Continue reading Penhaligon’s Attic [review]

The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde [review]

Title: The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde Author: Eve Chase Publisher: Penguin UK - Michael Joseph [Synopsis] Four sisters. One summer. A lifetime of secrets. When fifteen-year-old Margot and her three sisters arrive at Applecote Manor in June 1959, they expect a quiet English country summer. Instead, they find their aunt and uncle still reeling from the… Continue reading The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde [review]

Beneath a Burning Sky [review]

Title: Beneath a Burning Sky Author: Jenny Ashcroft Publisher: Sphere [Synopsis] A beautiful and heart-wrenching story of love and betrayal, set against a backdrop of British-occupied Egypt. Perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Leah Fleming. When twenty-two-year-old Olivia is coerced into marriage by the cruel Alistair Sheldon she leaves England for Egypt, his… Continue reading Beneath a Burning Sky [review]

The Woman in the Wood [review]

Title: The Woman in the Wood Author: Lesley Pearse Publisher: Michael Joseph - Penguin [Synopsis] Fifteen-year-old Maisy Mitcham and her twin brother Duncan lose their mother to an asylum one night in 1960. The twins are sent to their grandmother's country house, Nightingales. Cold and distant, she leaves them to their own devices, to explore… Continue reading The Woman in the Wood [review]

We Were the Lucky Ones [review]

Title: We Were The Lucky Ones Author: Georgia Hunter Publisher: Allison & Busby [Synopsis] From the jazz clubs of Paris and Kraków’s most brutal prison, to the ports of Northern Africa and the farthest reaches of the Siberian gulag, We Were the Lucky Ones expresses how in the darkest of times the human spirit can… Continue reading We Were the Lucky Ones [review]

The Fire Child [review]

The Fire Child by S.K. Tremayne

[Synopsis] When Rachel marries dark, handsome David, everything seems to fall into place. Swept from single life in London to the beautiful Carnhallow House in Cornwall, she gains wealth, love, and an affectionate stepson, Jamie. But then Jamie’s behaviour changes, and Rachel’s perfect life begins to unravel. He makes disturbing predictions, claiming to be haunted… Continue reading The Fire Child [review]