Another Woman’s Husband [review]

Title: Another Woman's Husband Author: Gill Paul Publisher: Headline Review [Synopsis] Two women who challenged the Crown. Divided by time. Bound by a secret... 1911 At the age of fifteen, carefree Mary Kirk and indomitable Wallis Warfield meet at summer camp. Their friendship will survive heartbreaks, separation and the demands of the British Crown until… Continue reading Another Woman’s Husband [review]

Advertisements

Beneath a Burning Sky [review]

Title:¬†Beneath a Burning Sky Author: Jenny Ashcroft Publisher: Sphere [Synopsis] A beautiful and heart-wrenching story of love and betrayal, set against a backdrop of British-occupied Egypt. Perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Leah Fleming. When twenty-two-year-old Olivia is coerced into marriage by the cruel Alistair Sheldon she leaves England for Egypt, his… Continue reading Beneath a Burning Sky [review]

The Woman in the Wood [review]

Title: The Woman in the Wood Author: Lesley Pearse Publisher: Michael Joseph - Penguin [Synopsis] Fifteen-year-old Maisy Mitcham and her twin brother Duncan lose their mother to an asylum one night in 1960. The twins are sent to their grandmother's country house, Nightingales. Cold and distant, she leaves them to their own devices, to explore… Continue reading The Woman in the Wood [review]

The Muse [review]

[My Review] A picture hides a thousand words . . . On a hot July day in 1967, Odelle Bastien climbs the stone steps of the Skelton gallery in London, knowing that her life is about to change forever. Having struggled to find her place in the city since she arrived from Trinidad five years… Continue reading The Muse [review]

Scarlet Widow [review]

Scarlet Widow by Graham Masterton

[Synopsis] London, 1750: Beatrice Scarlet is the apothecary's daughter. She can mix medicines and herbs to save the lives of her neighbours - but, try as she might, she can't save the lives of her parents. An orphan at just sixteen, Beatrice marries a preacher and emigrates to America. New Hampshire, 1756: In the farming… Continue reading Scarlet Widow [review]

The Shadow Hour [review]

[Synopsis] Nineteen twenty-two. Grace has been sent to the stately and crumbling Fenix House to follow in her grandmother's footsteps as a governess. But when she meets the house's inhabitants, people who she had only previously heard of in stories, the cracks in her grandmother's tale begin to show. Secrets appear to live in the… Continue reading The Shadow Hour [review]