The Brighton Mermaid [review]

Title: The Brighton Mermaid Author: Dorothy Koomson Publisher: Century [Synopsis] Brighton Beach, 1993: Teenagers Nell and Jude find the body of a young woman and when no one comes to claim her, she becomes known as the Brighton Mermaid. Nell is still struggling to move on when, three weeks later, Jude disappears. Twenty-five years on, Nell… Continue reading The Brighton Mermaid [review]

Advertisements

The Friend [review]

Title: The Friend Author: Dorothy Koomson Publisher: Penguin Random House UK [Synopsis] What secrets would you kill to keep?  After her husband’s big promotion, Cece Solarin arrives in Brighton with their three children, ready to start afresh. But their new neighbourhood has a deadly secret. Three weeks earlier, Yvonne, a very popular parent, was almost… Continue reading The Friend [review]

Still Me [review]

Title: Still Me Author: JoJo Moyes Publisher: Michael Joseph [Synopsis] Louisa Clark arrives in New York ready to start a new life, confident that she can embrace this new adventure and keep her relationship with Ambulance Sam alive across several thousand miles. She is thrown into the world of the superrich Gopniks: Leonard and his much younger… Continue reading Still Me [review]

Home [review] – out today!

Title: Home Author: Amanda Berriman Publisher: Random House UK [Synopsis] Jesika is four and a half. She lives in a flat with her mother and baby brother and she knows a lot. She knows their flat is high up and the stairs are smelly. She knows she shouldn't draw on the peeling wallpaper or touch the… Continue reading Home [review] – out today!

Everything I Know About Love [review]

Title: Everything I Know About Love Author: Dolly Alderton Publisher: Penguin [Synopsis] A spot-on, wildly funny and sometimes heart-breaking book about growing up, growing older and navigating all kinds of love along the way When it comes to the trials and triumphs of becoming a grown up, journalist and former Sunday Times dating columnist Dolly… Continue reading Everything I Know About Love [review]

The Break [review]

Title: The Break Author: Marian Keyes Publisher: Michael Joseph UK [Synopsis] Amy's husband Hugh isn't really leaving her. At least, that's what he promises. He is just taking a break - from their marriage, their children and, most of all, from their life together. For six-months Hugh will lose himself in south-east Asia, and there… Continue reading The Break [review]

Dead Girls Can’t Lie [blog tour review]

Today I've got a review of Dead Girls Can't Lie as part of the blog tour! The novel is out in paperback and ebook formats, so read on for my thoughts! Title: Dead Girls Can't Lie Author: Carys Jones Publisher: Head of Zeus [Synopsis] Best friends tell each other the truth – don't they? When… Continue reading Dead Girls Can’t Lie [blog tour review]

Standard Deviation [review]

Title: Standard Deviation Author: Katherine Heiny Publisher: HarperCollins UK - 4th Estate [Synopsis] A rueful, funny examination of love, marriage, infidelity, and origami. Simultaneously hilarious and heartbreaking, this sensational debut will appeal to fans of David Nicholls, Nick Hornby, Nora Ephron and Lorrie Moore Graham Cavanaugh’s second wife, Audra, is everything his first wife was not.… Continue reading Standard Deviation [review]

The Sense of an Ending [review]

Title: The Sense of an Ending Author: Julian Barnes Publisher: Vintage [Synopsis] Tony Webster and his clique first met Adrian Finn at school. Sex-hungry and book-hungry, they would navigate the girl-less sixth form together, trading in affectations, in-jokes, rumour and wit. Maybe Adrian was a little more serious than the others, certainly more intelligent, but… Continue reading The Sense of an Ending [review]

This Love [review]

Title: This Love Author: Dani Atkins Publisher: Simon & Schuster [Synopsis] Sophie Winter lives in a self-imposed cocoon - she's a single, thirty-one year old translator who works from home in her one bedroom flat. This isn’t really the life she dreamed of, but then Sophie stopped believing in happy endings a very long time ago, when she… Continue reading This Love [review]