The Spark Girl [review]

The Spark Girl - Fiona Ford

Title: The Spark Girl
Author: Fiona Ford
Publisher: Orion

[Synopsis]

Spring 1940. Kitty Williams has suffered more than her fair share of tragedy but rather than wallowing, she’s more determined than ever to do her part in the battle against Hitler. Stepping up her own war effort, Kitty leaves her home town of Coventry and joins the Auxiliary Territorial Service (Women’s Army – ATS) where she finds new friends in Di, Peggy and Mary but also new obstacles to overcome in both her professional and personal lives.

Packed full of wartime adventure, romance, heartbreak and friendship, The Spark Girls is a gripping and poignant saga perfect for fans of Ellie Dean, Daisy Styles and Maggie Ford.

Add to Goodreads button

[My Review]

The Spark Girl is a sweet, entertaining story set during a time period I find really interesting – World War 2. I like that this novel centers around women doing their bit for the war effort, and not just in jobs that might be deemed for ‘female’ jobs – in The Spark Girl, Kitty and her new friends have joined the Auxiliary Territorial Service (ATS). As the women’s branch of the army, played a hugely important part in the war effort and I enjoyed reading about the ATS, which I don’t know a huge amount about, so it’s great to learn more!

The story itself is a mix of adventure and camaraderie along with relationships and new friendships. This, I think, is what makes it such a comforting read – it’s not all about survival, though that of course makes up a large amount due to the WW2-era setting, but also touches on bravery in other ways – standing up to people, or befriending those who need help. I could guess what was coming at some points, but it didn’t detract from story which flowed well.

The main characters are likable and, although many have their own faults or annoying character traits (Mary is a key example of this), and some of the other girls seem to lack a real (pardon the pun) spark, they pull together and work hard. You really see some characters develop throughout the novel. Other characters, of course, are very much not likable, and not intended to be, acting as an unlikely source of evil; they may not be the common enemy of the Germans but instead homegrown horribleness, which is perhaps more treacherous really. I found this a different and fresh twist.

Conclusion: an entertaining, easy to read story set in wartime Britain!

Thanks to Fiona Ford for providing a copy of this novel on which I chose to write an honest and unbiased review.

DON’T FORGET… FOLLOW ME ON: INSTAGRAM @SNAZZY_BOOKS_ / GOODREADS LAURA / AND TWITTER @LAURANAZMDEH!

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “The Spark Girl [review]

Please leave me a reply; I'd love to hear what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s