Deadly Alibi [review]

Deadly Alibi - Leigh Russell

Title: Deadly Alibi
Author: Leigh Russell
Publisher: No Exit Press

[Synopsis]

Two murder victims and a suspect whose alibi appears open to doubt…. Geraldine Steel is plunged into a double murder investigation which threatens not only her career, but her life. And then her previously unknown twin Helena turns up, with problems which are about to make Geraldine’s life turn toxic in more ways than one!

For fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons, Peter James and Robert Bryndza, Deadly Alibi is a gripping murder investigation that will keep you turning the pages late into the night.

Add to Goodreads button

[My Review]

Deadly Alibi, though the sixth novel in the DI Geraldine Steel series, is the first I’ve read by Leigh Russell. I found that this didn’t hamper my enjoyment, though, and by the end I realised I’d found a brilliant, new (to me) crime series which – even better! – I now have five other novels to catch up on!

The characters are great – Geraldine herself is a strong, confident and very intelligent woman who seems to be a great Detective. Like many in this genre, she has her quirks and can be pretty impulsive at times, landing her in hot water at some points, whilst many others on her team are likeable and capable too. I really liked Sam, who seems loyal and a great partner, and Ian – I want to read previous novels to figure out exactly what has happened between them!

In terms of narrative, the investigation is interesting and moves along at a good pace – I never got bored or impatient. I quite liked that there was a sort of side story to the main investigation, with Geraldine’s twin sister Helena being introduced into the story (not a likeable person at all but a great catalyst for some trouble and strife for Geraldine, and definitely an interesting character to read about!). The story definitely kept me hooked and I could have devoured this book in one sitting if it wasn’t for work!

I really enjoyed Deadly Alibi and will certainly be reading others in the series. I didn’t find that it mattered that I hadn’t started from book 1 but those in the know seem to state in their reviews that it’s best to start at the beginning, which makes sense, so I think I will do that and work my way through – because, as a newbie to this series, there could be lots of extra hints and info that I won’t have even realised I missed in this novel!

Deadly Alibi is a great read, keeping me gripped from page one right until its satisfying conclusion!

[Rating: 4/5]

Many thanks to No Exit Press who provided a copy of this novel on which I chose to write an honest and unbiased review.

Deadly Alibi is out now in ebook format and out in paperback on 25 May.

DON’T FORGET… FOLLOW ME ON: INSTAGRAM @SNAZZY_STUFF_GOODREADS LAURA / AND TWITTER @LAURANAZMDEH!

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Deadly Alibi [review]

Please leave me a reply; I'd love to hear what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s