The Girl With No Past [review]

the_girl_with_no_past
[Synopsis]

Leah Mills lives a life of a fugitive – kept on the run by one terrible day from her past. It is a lonely life, without a social life or friends until – longing for a connection – she meets Julian. For the first time she dares to believe she can live a normal life.

Then, on the fourteenth anniversary of that day, she receives a card. Someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed the life Leah has created.

But is Leah all she seems? Or does she deserve everything she gets?

Everyone has secrets. But some are deadly.


[My Review]

I loved this book! Don’t let the fact that it’s deemed ‘for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl On The Train‘, like millions of other books at the moment also are, because for once this book is actually as good as those – if not better!

The story drew me in so much. I was completely intrigued as to why Leah is living such a miserable life, what exactly from her past she’s paying for, and exactly what happened back in her schooldays! Kathryn Croft manages to beautifully draw the reader in to this mystery, slowly revealing more as the novel continues, as well as some twists and turns to keep you guessing!

I guess the best part of this novel is just how involved you feel with Leah. The story jumps from the present tense to the events leading up to this awful thing Leah seems to have done (of what exactly we don’t know, until the very end). At first this writing style is a little confusing but I soon got used to it. You feel yourself becoming more and more sympathetic towards her as the novel goes on and the sad life she’s confined herself to, but you’re not sure what she’s done. Because of this I always felt a little unsure and hesitant towards her.

It’s also really interesting to read about how it affected different members of the community and her family, and why she seems to have got all the blame. All is revealed…

The pace is fast, the writing is great and the characters are a convincing mix of nasty and nice that leaves you doubting one then another!

Give this a go if you’re a fan of this genre, or even if you’re not- I doubt you’ll be disappointed 🙂

[Rating: 5/5]

** Many thanks to the publisher for providing a copy of this novel in return for an honest review. **

Have you read The Girl With No Past? If so, what did you think- did it measure up to others in the same genre?

Advertisements

One thought on “The Girl With No Past [review]

Please leave me a reply; I'd love to hear what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s