The Marriage Plot

Upcoming books (as of November 2014)

Here are a few books I’m reading/ have read and will post reviews for soon… I am aware that some of these may have appeared on my book haul/ to read list aaages ago and I never got round to reading and reviewing quite a few them, but they will be soon!

I am determined to make my way through my ever-growing pile of books and to not keep getting distracted by amazing Netgalley advance copies on offer…

In no particular order:

The girl in the PhotographThe Girl in the Photograph – Kate Riordan
Synopsis: The Girl in the Photograph is a haunting and atmospheric novel that tells the tales of women in two different eras – the 1890’s and 1930’s – and how their lives seem to be entwined by fate. Kate Riordan’s novel is a beautifully dark and beguiling tale which will sweep you away.

It will appeal to fans of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca.

 Note – as this is a preview copy, I can’t post the review until January- but there will be a review then!

Us by David NichollsUs – David Nicholls
Synopsis: ‘I was looking forward to us growing old together. Me and you, growing old and dying together.’

‘Douglas, who in their right mind would look forward to that?’

Douglas Petersen understands his wife’s need to ‘rediscover herself’ now that their son is leaving home.
He just thought they’d be doing their rediscovering together.

So when Connie announces that she will be leaving, too, he resolves to make their last family holiday into the trip of a lifetime: one that will draw the three of them closer, and win the respect of his son. One that will make Connie fall in love with him all over again.

The hotels are booked, the tickets bought, the itinerary planned and printed.

What could possibly go wrong?

The Marriage PlotThe Marriage Plot – Jeffrey Eugenides
Synopsis: Brown University, 1982. Madeleine Hanna, dutiful English student and incurable romantic, is writing her thesis on Jane Austen and George Eliot – authors of the great marriage plots. As Madeleine studies the age-old motivations of the human heart, real life, in the form of two very different men, intervenes.

Leonard Bankhead, brilliant scientist and charismatic loner, attracts Madeleine with an intensity that she seems powerless to resist. Meanwhile her old friend Mitchell Grammaticus, a theology student searching for some kind of truth in life, is certain of at least one thing – that he and Madeleine are destined to be together.

But as all three leave college, they will have to figure out how they want their own marriage plot to end.

The Girl with all the GiftsThe Girl With All The Gifts – M.R. Carey
Synopsis: Not every gift is a blessing…

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class.

When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

The Girl With All the Gifts is a groundbreaking thriller, emotionally charged and gripping from beginning to end.

There will be more to come of course, but these will keep me going for now I think! 🙂

Advertisements

Please leave me a reply; I'd love to hear what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s